About Jay

My name is Jay Gumbs and I’ve been doing affiliate marketing since February 2006.

I’ve been doing it full time since March 2009 when I decided I was consistently making enough to quit my job as a civil worker.

I’m proof that you can make money online from anywhere in the world because where I come from, a small island in the Caribbean called St. Vincent and the Grenadines, most people don’t even believe that it is possible. Still I get my checks in the mail on a regular basis and deposit them at the local bank.

How I Got Started In Affiliate Marketing

I got started making money online after seeing an ad in the back of Small Business Opportunity magazine. I had been looking for ways to make money because I wasn’t happy with what I was making at the job.

I had tried MLM – you may have heard about Amway (they used to be called Quixtar when I was with them). That wasn’t for me especially in St. Vincent. I had wanted to do some other offline businesses but things never seemed to work out.

The magazine ad would eventually lead me to advertising affiliate programs on Google Adwords where I made my first sales commission of $29.00 on Clickbank.

This first sale got me hooked on affiliate marketing and I made it my business to learn everything I needed to know in order to make this a full time gig.

I would say that I failed a bit though in the beginning because I was trying to learn everything on my own and after a while during the first year I wasn’t making any money. There was something I was missing and I didn’t know what it was until January 2007 when I joined an affiliate marketing training site called Wealthy Affiliate.

I’m still a member of Wealthy Affiliate because they helped me find that missing piece of the puzzle so that I could make money consistently after today.

Right now, I own a handful of niche affiliate websites and have even built a website for a local real estate company.

When I’m Not Doing The Marketing Stuff

I’m pretty much a regular guy who loves to have fun. Guess I didn’t mention it before but I’ll be 39 in December.

I hang out with friends on the weekend, hit the clubs or the beach depending on which friends.

If and when I do travel, I usually like to go to Florida around the Ft. Lauderdale area where I have some family.

As far as hobbies, I love fishing, playing chess and shooting pool but the thing that I love most is listening to music and trying to figure out the samples. My favorite genre is hip hop but I grew up on basically everything from reggae, soca, blues, country and rock music so I pretty much listen to everything.

I’m still trying to figure out how to make money from my passion for sample based music.

That’s me in a nutshell. If you want to know anything else about me, please ask in the comments and I’ll tell you more.